and to all a good night!

It’s the last month of the year and the holiday season is in full swing. Time to gather with friends and family, enjoy the sights, sounds and festivities of Christmas and Hanukkah, shop ’til you drop, embrace the reason for the season, reflect on the past year and prepare for the new one.

The past few months have caused me a lot of stress and frustration. A milestone birthday crept up on me (how did so many years go by??) and had me feeling a bit out of sorts for awhile. My age doesn’t usually bother me but this one hit me kinda hard. Thankfully, a good friend and I decided to take a cruise to celebrate our birthdays; more on that in a minute.

As I grapple with getting older and figuring out what comes next, I realized that my photography and writing this blog aren’t as fulfilling as they once were. It’s hard to explain but I just haven’t felt like going out with my trusty camera to capture the wonders of the day or a place. I’ve lost my mojo.

So, this will be my last blog post. Thank you for reading my blog every month and sending me your thoughts and comments. It means a lot to know that someone actually reads my words and enjoys hearing about my travels. Perhaps I’ll be back with a quarterly blog or some other new creative outlet. In the meantime you can always call, email, text or visit me. Or follow me on Instagram @wanderbee60 and at WanderBeePhotography on Facebook.

So, back to that birthday cruise! November is a fantastic time to visit Southern California. We enjoyed a warm and sunny day in San Diego before boarding our floating city for a week of exploring the beautiful California coast. The ship was great and I really enjoyed the fantastic live music every night. The weather did not disappoint, either.

Our first port, Ensenada, MX, was kind of a joke. We arrived later than planned and after dark because the ship that was in our berth left late for some reason. I ventured off the ship and a family of three invited me to walk with them. A short distance away we found a lively market with vendors and music. It was a warm evening and after perusing the stalls for about an hour we went back onboard.

We had two full days in San Francisco and it was quite the sight to get up early (6 am!) and head to the bow of the ship to watch us sail under the Golden Gate Bridge. Spectacular city views welcomed us. We took our time getting off the ship and wandered around Fisherman’s Wharf before meeting our small group for a tour to Muir Woods National Monument known for its towering old-growth redwood trees. So many trees and trails, so little time!

The next day I visited Alcatraz Island, home of the former maximum security federal penitentiary. I never would have survived prison! Upon my safe return to the city the rest of the day was spent checking out famous landmarks — riding a cable car, walking through Chinatown and watching cars navigate the eight hairpin turns on the “Crookedest Street in the World.” Did I mention that we walked UP and DOWN Lombard Street??! We walked about nine miles total that afternoon! What a relief to return to the ship to rest, enjoy a glass of wine and a delicious meal.

Our final port of call was the charming city of Santa Barbara with the Santa Ynez Mountains in one direction, palm trees and the ocean in the other direction. The downtown, Mediterranean-style white stucco buildings with red-tile roofs remind us of the city’s Spanish colonial heritage. Good thing we had our walking shoes on because after a short trolley ride from Stearn’s Wharf we made our way to the historic Mission Santa Barbara, founded on December 4, 1786. Our time in this lovely coastal city was short but I enjoyed every minute.

All too soon our 7-day coastal adventure was over. Farewell, California! Can’t wait to visit again! Thanks, Kerry, for booking the cruise. It was fun celebrating our birthdays together.

And now, back to reality. For me this means a return to the desert southwest for a few months. I spent my first few days here doing yardwork in 60-degree weather. Are you sure it’s November?? I went hiking with a friend yesterday and this weekend begins a whirlwind of holiday activities around town.

However you celebrate the season, I wish you joy and to all, a good night!

November highlights…..

3 thoughts on “and to all a good night!

  1. Love your cruise pictures Barb! Enjoy your time in NM and I will see you when you are back in the PacNW in the spring. Looking forward to whatever photos you feel like taking/sharing!

    Like

  2. Oh BaBob, thanks for your insight and inspiration over these many years! I so looked forward to your precious blog each month. Will miss it, along with your amazing fotos. Will e-mail you fershure. Happy trails!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.